Chief Patron: Shri Prakash Javadekar, Hon’ble Minister of HRD


Organizing Committee:

1.       Chairman:           Prof Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman AICTE

2.       Co-Chairman:    Dr Anand Deshpande, Chairman  & MD, Persistent Systems Ltd.

3.       Secretary:            Dr Abhay Jere, AVP Persistent Systems and CEO, i4C

4.       Member:             Prof Dileep N. Malkhede, Advisor AICTE

5.       Member:             Prof. Arun Jamkar, President i4c

6.       Member:             Smt. Alka Mishra, Scientist F, NIC

7.       Member:             Shri Gireendra Kasmalkar, Founder, Ideas to Impact

8.       Member:             Shri Ravi Pokharna, Rambhau Mhalgi Prabodhini

9.       Member:             Shri Adesh Gokhale, Executive Director, IBM


1)      Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Director General of Rambhau Mhalgi Prabodhini

2)      Shri R. Subrahmanyam, Additional Secretary (TE), Ministry of HRD

3)      Shri Gaurav Dwivedi, CEO MyGov


MHRD, AICTE, Persistent Systems, i4C, NIC, MyGov


Deloitte, KPIT, Suma Soft, ACM, NASSCOM, Zee Television Network

Evaluation Core Committee:

1.       Chairman:           Dr Madhavan Mukund, Vice President of the ACM India Council

2.       Secretary:            Dr R. Venkatesh, Chief Scientist, TCS & ACM India

3.       Coordinator:      Shri Vivek Kulkarni, Chief Architect, Persistent Systems Ltd

4.       Members:           Shri Prashant Bhatwadekar, Shri Ravindra Naik, Ms. Disha Singh

Methodology for Smart India Hackathon 2017

Generating Problem Statements (Phase 1):

1.       A DO Letter from Shri  Vinay Sheel Oberoi, Secretary, Ministry of HRD, sent on September 2, 2016 to all Ministries & Depts. for participation in Smart India Hackathon 2017.

2.       Participation confirmed by 29Central Govt. Ministries/ Departments. MyGov and NIC agreed to offer technology support.

3.       Every participating ministry appointed a ‘Nodal Officer’ for identifying problem statements within their ministry and coordinating activities with the organizers.

4.       Participating ministries will also offer prizes of Rs. 2.25 lakhs (First prize Rs 1 lakh, Second prize Rs 75 thousand, Third prize Rs 50 thousand) to winning solutions.

5.       Total of 598 Problem Statements were provided by various participating Ministries/Departments.



Getting Innovative Digital Ideas from Students (Phase 2)

1.       All the 598 Problem Statements received from the ministries were used to challenge technology students to offer innovative digital solutions as part of Smart India Hackathon 2017.

2.       On 9thNov. 2016, Smart India Hackathon 2017 was launched by Shri Prakash Javadekar, Hon’ble Minister HRD and Chief Patron for Smart India Hackathon 2017.

3.       Technology students were expected to form a team of 6 students (with at least 1 girl student mandatory in each team) and submit innovative approaches/ideas for solving 598 problems offered by different ministries/depts. on online portal

4.       Online Idea submission process was open from November 9, 2016 to February 20, 2017.

5.       Conducted ‘Awareness Workshops’ in 26 cities across India inviting deans, principals, staff members and students from different technology institutes to participate in Smart India Hackathon 2017.

6.       To motivate students, ‘Leadership Talks’ by Industry Leaders were also organized using Facebook LIVE from December 2016 to February 2017.

7.       Total of 7531 ideas were received from 2100+ Technology Institutions across India.

8.       All ideas reviewed  by internal team to ensure that the submission meets the criteria set by the organizers:

9.       Solution document submitted is in the prescribed format.

10.   Each team comprises of 6 members with at least 1 female student.

11.   Idea is from educational institutions only.

12.   Out of 7531, approximately top 15-10% submissions will be shortlisted for the 36 hrs non-stop Grand Finale of Smart India Hackathon 2017 scheduled to be organized on 1st & 2nd of April 2017 simultaneously across 27 locations. 

Evaluation of Submitted Ideas and Shortlisting of teams for Grand Finale (Phase 3):

Expert Evaluation of online Submissions:

1.       Evaluation Core Committee (mentioned above) oversaw the evaluation process.

2.       Online Platform developed enabled distribution of ideas to evaluators, getting their feedback and monitoring the evaluation process.

3.       A team of 300+ evaluators consisting of experts from the industry, Persistent Systems, ACM, KPIT, TCS, IBM, Cognizant, NASSCOM, and judges nominated by ministries evaluated the proposals.

4.       Dr. R. Venkatesh and Mr. Vivek Kulkarni led the evaluation team.

5.       Each entry was assigned to up to four evaluators ( 3 industry + 1 or 2 Ministry/ Dept Judges)

6.       Each evaluator evaluated every entry based on novelty, potential impact, appropriateness and technical feasibility and gave a final overall review as ‘Strongly Accepted; accepted; Borderline; Rejected’.

7.       At the end of evaluation phase, each entry was ensured to have at least two evaluations with accepted or above.

8.       The evaluation committee selected the qualifiers based on the evaluations received, and number of entries received for each ministry.

9.       In case, for some entries if only one evaluation result was available, then only ‘Strongly Accepted’ ideas was shortlisted.

10.   At the end of this process, the selected entries were sent to the core committee members for their approval.

11.   On approval by the core committee, the results were announced simultaneously on; and

36 hrs. Non-Stop Grand Finale on 1st and 2nd April 2017 (Phase 4)

1)      Shortlisted 1200+ teams will compete non-stop for 36 hrs across 27 different locations in India on 1st and 2nd April.

2)      On 1st April the competition will start at 8.30 am and will finish on 2nd April at 8.30 pm followed by Prize distribution ceremony.

3)      The winners might get opportunity to work with respective ministries directly and further develop their idea into robust product.

4)      NASSCOM and other funding agencies will consider handholding few very good ideas for converting them into startups.


Special Thanks

The core committee is thankful to all 7500 + teams who took pains to submit the entries. All the entries were of good quality and deserved to be in the finals, but for logistic arrangement, we were constrained to shortlist 1200+ entries only. Other teams have learnt the nature of problems and may continue to work on similar problems as undergraduate projects.